Not from the heart…

I was sitting in my car on a signal when I saw her. She was a little girl of the age of 8 or may be 9. She was walking towards a car.When she reached there and said something to the woman who was sitting in the passenger seat.

That woman got very angry and scolded the girl very badly.I understood that the girl was a beggar.She ran back to the pavement and stood there again.Quietly.

After a few seconds she turned around as if she knew that I was watching her. But she didn’t move. I understood she hesitated because of the scene just happened and she knew that I witnessed it.

When she didn’t come to me I called her by waving my hand. She was a little scared but she came.

Both of us didn’t say anything. I wanted to help her but instead of money I gave her a few pieces of chocolate sandwich from my daughter’s tiffin. She ran back without looking at me.

I knew that she was embarrassed of her situation. May be she started begging on the roads after a few months of her birth but she was not a beggar from the heart.

She was still not used to the insult which is some times very obvious in this profession and she was not ready to accept it. She had selfrespect but was not able to protect it.I truly hope that one day she will find courage to change her life in better way and live happily.

Leave a Reply

